Tag Archives: Mohan Meakin

Solan came into existence on 1st September 1972. With an area of 1936 square kilometres, Solan is placed at 9th out of 12 districts in terms of area occupied and is 4th in terms of population which is approximately equal to 576670. Solan district was carved out by combining Solan and Arki Tehsils former Mahasu district and Kandaghat in Nalagarh tehsils of the former Shimla district. The name Solan comes from the local deity Shoolini Devi, which is believed to save Solan from being destroyed. The Solan district comprises of 5 tehsils which includes Kasauli, Nalagarh, Arki, Kandaghat and district headquarter Solan. Solan district is surrounded by Sirmour, Shimla, Mandi and Bilaspur districts and the states of Punjab and Haryana. Pahadi Giddha or Paruhan is the traditional dance of Solan District and is originally from Kunihar, which can be called the cultural capital of the region. A historical dance called Thodo, based…

Read more